Jewellery encyclopaedia: Jewellery from A to Z

ICRUSH Jewellery Lexicon

Neckmess, layering, stacking - it's not always immediately clear what certain terms from the world of jewellery mean. We have summarised the most important terms in our jewellery lexicon and explain all the terms from the ICRUSH cosmos.

#

316L stainless steel: 316L stainless steel is also called surgical steel. It is a very robust, waterproof and allergy-friendly material, from which most of the ICRUSH jewellery is made.

925 sterling silver: This is a noble material that is very often used to make jewellery. 925 sterling silver is a high-quality but also somewhat more delicate material with a beautiful shine.

18K gold: 18K (= 18 carat) gold is another name for 750 real gold. It is therefore 75% pure gold, which is very popular in jewellery production. Jewellery from ICRUSH is 18K gold-plated, i.e. covered with such a layer of gold.

A

Bangle: A bangle, also called an arm clasp, is a type of solid bracelet that encloses the wrist either closed or open. Stainless steel bangles are flexible and therefore adjustable in size.

Bracelet: A bracelet is a piece of jewellery that adorns the wrist. Bracelets come in many different sizes and styles. They can be worn alone or in combination in so-called stacking.

Bracelet: An arm chain is another name for a bracelet. Typically, link bracelets are associated with the term bracelet or arm chain.

Anchor chain: The term anchor chain refers to a specific type of chain structure. In anchor chain, round or oval chain links are hooked into each other in such a way that a three-dimensional chain is created that is not flat.

B

Baguette cut: A baguette cut is the name given to a particular cut of jewellery, gemstones or crystals. Baguette cut stones are rectangular and have clear edges.

Baroque beads: The term baroque beads refers to beads that have an irregular, usually naturally formed shape. Baroque beads are rarely completely round in shape, but can also be elongated and asymmetrical. Their surface is also usually not completely smooth.

Bold Rings: This English term stands for rough, massive rings that are very eye-catching. They can be worn well on their own, but also in combination - in so-called ring stacking - to create a great look.

C

Charm: A charm is a loose pendant that can be attached to necklaces, bracelets, etc. Charms come in different shapes, designs and sizes and can also be combined with each other.

Surgical steel: Surgical steel is another name for 316L stainless steel. This robust and waterproof material is used in surgery as well as in piercing and jewellery production because it is very allergy-friendly and therefore well tolerated.

Choker: A choker is a short chain worn close to the neck. Similar to a choker, chokers can also be worn higher up on the neck. Longer link chains that are adjustable in length can also be worn as chokers.

Chunky: The English word chunky describes coarse, chunky pieces of jewellery. Chunky jewellery can be necklaces, bracelets, earrings and rings.

Creoles: Creoles are earrings in the shape of a ring that come in different sizes and shapes. They can either be closed or open at the back with a clasp. Creoles can be combined well with each other if there are several ear holes.

E

Earcuff: Earcuffs are small pieces of jewellery that are attached to the ear. No ear hole or piercing is necessary to wear an earcuff. Earcuffs are clipped into the side of the ear and round off any earring look perfectly.

Preciousmetal: In chemistry, precious metals comprise a range of metals that have certain properties, for example they are particularly resistant. Precious metals are well suited for jewellery making due to their physical, chemical and optical properties. Precious metals include, for example, silver, gold and platinum.

Genuine jewellery: Genuine jewellery is generally used to describe jewellery made of silver, gold or platinum. Due to the high-quality materials and fine workmanship, real jewellery is usually highly priced. Precious stones and minerals (e.g. diamonds) are also frequently used in real jewellery.

F

Anklets: Anklets are pieces of jewellery that are worn on the ankle. Anklets, or ankle chains, are especially popular in summer. Anklets come in different sizes and designs.

G

Yellow gold: Yellow gold refers to the typical shade of gold. In contrast to white gold or rose gold, yellow gold only contains parts that support the typical gold tone.

Linkchain: A link chain is a chain that consists of clearly recognisable chain links. The shape of the links can vary in link chains; round as well as oval or square links can form a link chain.

Engraving: Jewellery can be personalised by engraving. An engraving enables a kind of inscription on jewellery, in the context of a diamond engraving, for example, with the help of a diamond.

H

Semi-preciousstone: Semi-precious stones are also called gemstones. They are naturally occurring stones, minerals and other substances that are used in jewellery making. Semi-precious stones are characterised by their special colours and nuances.

Hoop earrings: The English term hoop is another word for creole. Hoop earrings are therefore ring-shaped earrings in different sizes and widths.

K

Carabiner clasp: A carabiner clasp is usually an elongated clasp for necklaces and bracelets. To open the carabiner, a small hook must be pulled backwards. A small spring closes it automatically.

Carat: Carat is a unit of measurement. The mass - i.e. the weight - of precious stones is measured in carats. The fineness of gold is also expressed in carats. One carat is equal to 1/24 of the weight. One-carat gold therefore consists of 1/24 parts by weight of pure gold, 18-carat gold of 18/24, i.e. 75%.

L

Layering: The term layering describes a certain way of combining necklaces. When layering, several necklaces of different lengths are worn on top of each other. Each chain is shown off to its best advantage and is not covered by the others. Overall, such a combination is called a layering look.

N

Neckmess: The English term neckmess (neck = neck; mess = mess) describes a way of combining many necklaces with each other. Unlike layering, necklaces are also worn wildly on top of each other in neckmess; the length, shape and style of the necklaces do not play a role.

Name jewellery: There are various ways to wear your own or another name in the form of jewellery. Chains with individual letters can stand for a name, but personalising jewellery with an engraving also adds a personal touch to a necklace, bracelet, ring or earrings.

O

Oxidation: Oxidation describes a chemical reaction that also plays a role in jewellery. Certain materials can oxidise over time, i.e. react with oxygen. This can lead to discolouration of sterling silver, for example, and the jewellery tarnishes. These traces of oxidation can be quickly removed with the help of a silver polishing cloth or a silver bath. You can find out more about jewellery care in our .

Ear pendants: Ear pendants are earrings with a hanging shape. Earrings can consist of creoles or studs with small pendants, as well as links or small chains.

Studearrings: Stud earrings are small earrings with a plug-in closure. As a rule, stud earrings are earrings that rest on the earlobe and do not exceed a certain size. Stud earrings can be combined well with other earrings.

P

Panzer chain: Panzer chains are chains whose links are put together in such a way that they form a flat chain that lies as flat as possible on the skin. Figaro chains form a subcategory of curb chains.

Pearl: Pearls are usually round, stone-like solids made of mother-of-pearl. They grow naturally in shells, but can also be produced synthetically. Their beauty and lustre make them very popular in jewellery making.

Mother-of-pearl: Mother-of-pearl is the material that pearls are made of. The shells of certain shells and other animals are also made of mother-of-pearl. Due to the shimmer of the material, it is often used - especially in the form of pearls - in jewellery making.

Personalisation: Jewellery can be personalised in various ways. For example, a piece of jewellery can be engraved with writing. But also signs of the zodiac and letters count as personalised jewellery.

R

Ring stacking: Ring stacking describes a way of combining rings. Several rings are worn on one finger on top of each other. Wearing several rings on several fingers is also called ring stacking. Thin rings are particularly suitable for stacking, but coarse rings can also be combined well.

Rhodium plating: The term rhodium plating refers to a certain coating of silver jewellery that creates an additional protective layer for the piece of jewellery. Rhodium-plated jewellery is more resistant to oxidation and therefore tarnishes less quickly.

Rose gold: Rose gold is a shade of gold that is given a slightly reddish or pinkish colour by the addition of copper. Rose gold is popular in jewellery making and combines well with silver jewellery.

S

Gemstone: The term gemstone is another word for semi-precious stone. These are naturally occurring stones, crystals or other substances that are particularly suitable for jewellery making due to their special colour or lustre.

Stacking: Stacking refers to the combination of several pieces of jewellery on top of each other. With rings as well as with bracelets, one speaks of stacking when several pieces of jewellery are worn "stacked" on top of each other.

Statement jewellery: Statement jewellery includes particularly eye-catching, usually chunky pieces of jewellery. Necklaces as well as earrings, bracelets and rings can be statement jewellery. Statement jewellery quickly adds a special touch to an outfit.

Freshwater pearl: A freshwater pearl is a pearl that has grown in freshwater - i.e. not in salt water. Freshwater pearls are usually cultured. They are made of mother-of-pearl and closely resemble natural pearls in their shape, colour and chemical composition.

V

Gold plating: Gold plating is the process of alloying a piece of jewellery with gold. Depending on the base material, different types of gilding can be used, for example ion plating or galvanic processes.

W

Waterproof jewellery: Waterproof jewellery is characterised by the fact that it does not lose its colour even if it comes into contact with water regularly. 316L stainless steel jewellery is waterproof even if it is gold-plated. This means it can be worn while showering and swimming.

White gold: White gold is gold that is given a silvery colour by the addition of silver, chrome or platinum. Due to the gold content, it is of higher quality than silver, despite its similar colour.

Y

Y-chain: Y-chains are chains that are worn in a Y-shape. The clasp, which is usually at the front, allows the chain to be fastened at a higher point, so that one end of the chain hangs downwards, forming a Y. Link chains in particular, which can be fastened at each link, can be worn as Y-necklaces.

Z

Zirconia: Zirconia stones are synthetically produced crystals made of zirconium oxide. They can be colourless or coloured, are characterised by a sparkling shine and are very popular in jewellery making. Zirconia stones resemble rhinestones, but are more resistant.

Cultured pearl: Cultured pearls are pearls that have grown through selective breeding. Cultured pearls are grown in shells that live in salt or fresh water. Freshwater cultured pearls come very close to naturally occurring pearls in their appearance and properties.

Write a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.

Schmuck-Lexikon: Schmuck von A bis Z

ICRUSH Schmuck-Lexikon

Neckmess, Layering, Stacking – nicht immer ist sofort klar, was bestimmte Begriffe aus der Welt des Schmucks bedeuten. Wir haben euch in unserem Schmuck-Lexikon die wichtigsten Bezeichnungen zusammengefasst und erklären alle Begriffe aus dem ICRUSH-Kosmos.

#

316L Edelstahl: 316L Edelstahl wird auch Chirurgenstahl genannt. Es handelt sich dabei um ein sehr robustes, wasserfestes und allergiefreundliches Material, aus dem der Großteil des ICRUSH Schmucks besteht.

925er Sterling Silber: Hierbei handelt es sich um ein edles Material, das sehr häufig zur Herstellung von Schmuck verwendet wird. 925er Sterling Silber ist ein hochwertiges, jedoch auch etwas empfindlicheres Material mit einem schönen Glanz.

18K Gold: 18K (= 18 Karat) Gold ist eine andere Bezeichnung für 750er Echtgold. Es handelt sich also um zu 75% reines Gold, welches in der Schmuckproduktion sehr beliebt ist. Schmuck von ICRUSH ist 18K vergoldet, also mit einer solchen Goldschicht überzogen.

A

Armreif: Ein Armreif, auch Armspange genannt, ist eine Art festes Armband, das geschlossen oder offen das Handgelenk umfasst. Armreifen aus Edelstahl sind biegsam und daher in der Größe anpassbar.

Armband: Ein Armband ist ein Schmuckstück, das das Handgelenk ziert. Armbänder gibt es in vielen verschiedenen Größen und Stilen. Sie können sowohl alleine, als auch zu mehreren in Kombination im sogenannten Stacking getragen werden.

Armkettchen: Armkettchen ist eine andere Bezeichnung für ein Armband. Typischerweise werden Gliederarmbänder mit dem Begriff Armkettchen bzw. Armkette verbunden.

Ankerkette: Der Begriff Ankerkette bezeichnet eine bestimmte Art der Kettenstruktur. Bei der Ankerkette sind runde oder ovale Kettenglieder so ineinander verhakt, dass eine dreidimensionale Kette entsteht, die nicht flach ist.

B

Baguetteschliff: Als Baguetteschliff wird ein bestimmter Schliff von Schmuck-, Edelsteinen oder Kristallen bezeichnet. Im Baguetteschliff geschliffene Steine sind rechteckig und haben klare Kanten.

Barockperlen: Der Begriff Barockperlen bezeichnet Perlen, die eine unregelmäßige, meist natürlich entstandene Form aufweisen. Barockperlen sind selten ganz rund geformt, sondern können ebenso länglich und asymmetrisch sein. Auch ihre Oberfläche ist meist nicht ganz glatt.

Bold Rings: Dieser englische Begriff steht für grobe, massive Ringe, die sehr auffällig sind. Sie können gut alleine getragen werden, aber auch in Kombination – im sogenannten Ring Stacking – einen tollen Look schaffen.

C

Charm: Ein Charm ist ein loser Anhänger, der an Ketten, Armbänder etc. befestigt werden kann. Charms kommen in verschiedenen Formen, Designs und Größen und lassen sich auch miteinander kombinieren.

Chirurgenstahl: Chirurgenstahl ist eine andere Bezeichnung für 316L Edelstahl. Dieses robuste und wasserfeste Material wird sowohl in der Chirurgie, als auch in der Piercing- und Schmuckherstellung verwendet, da es sehr allergiefreundlich und somit gut verträglich ist.

Choker: Ein Choker ist eine kurze Kette, die eng am Hals getragen wird. Ähnlich wie ein Halsband können Choker auch weiter oben am Hals getragen werden. Auch längere Gliederketten, die in der Länge verstellbar sind, lassen sich als Choker tragen.

Chunky: Das englische Wort Chunky beschreibt grobe, klobige Schmuckstücke. Sowohl Ketten, als auch Armbänder, Ohrringe und Ringe können chunky Schmuckstücke sein.

Creolen: Creolen sind Ohrringe in Form eines Ringes, die es in verschiedenen Größen und Formen gibt. Sie können entweder geschlossen oder durch einen Steckverschluss hinten offen sein. Creolen können gut miteinander kombiniert werden, wenn mehrere Ohrlöcher vorhanden sind.

E

Earcuff: Earcuffs sind kleine Schmuckstücke, die ans Ohr gesteckt werden. Zum Tragen eines Earcuffs ist kein Ohrloch oder Piercing nötig. Earcuffs werden seitlich am Ohr in die Ohrmuschel geklemmt und runden jeden Ohrringlook perfekt ab.

Edelmetall: Edelmetalle umfassen in der Chemie eine Reihe an Metallen, die bestimmte Eigenschaften haben, beispielsweise besonders beständig sind. Edelmetalle sind aufgrund ihrer physikalischen, chemischen und optischen Eigenschaften gut für die Schmuckherstellung geeignet. Zu den Edelmetallen zählen beispielsweise Silber, Gold und Platin.

Echtschmuck: Als Echtschmuck wird im allgemeinen Sprachgebrauch Schmuck aus Silber, Gold oder Platin bezeichnet. Durch die hochwertigen Materialien und die feine Verarbeitung ist Echtschmuck meist hochpreisig. Auch Edelsteine und Minerale (z.B. Diamanten) sind häufig in Echtschmuckstücken verarbeitet.

F

Fußkettchen: Fußkettchen sind Schmuckstücke, die am Fußgelenk getragen werden. Besonders im Sommer sind Fußkettchen, oder auch Fußketten, sehr beliebt. Fußkettchen gibt es in verschiedenen Größen und Designs.

G

Gelbgold: Gelbgold bezeichnet den typischen Farbton von Gold. Im Gegensatz zu Weißgold oder Roségold enthält Gelbgold nur Anteile, die den typischen Goldton unterstützen.

Gliederkette: Eine Gliederkette ist eine Kette, die aus deutlich erkennbaren Kettengliedern besteht. Die Form der Glieder kann bei Gliederketten variieren, sowohl runde, als auch ovale oder eckige Glieder können eine Gliederkette bilden.

Gravur: Durch eine Gravur können Schmuckstücke personalisiert werden. Eine Gravur ermöglicht eine Art Beschriftung von Schmuckstücken, im Rahmen einer Diamantgravur beispielsweise mithilfe eines Diamanten.

H

Halbedelstein: Halbedelsteine werden auch als Schmucksteine bezeichnet. Es handelt sich dabei um natürlich vorkommende Steine, Minerale und andere Stoffe, die in der Schmuckherstellung Verwendung finden. Halbedelsteine zeichnen sich durch ihre besonderen Farben und Nuancen aus.

Hoop-Ohrringe: Der englische Begriff Hoop ist ein anderes Wort für Creole. Bei Hoop-Ohrringen handelt es sich also um ringförmige Ohrringe in verschiedenen Größen und Breiten.

K

Karabiner-Verschluss: Ein Karabiner-Verschluss ist ein meist länglich geformter Verschluss für Ketten und Armbänder. Zum Öffnen des Karabiners muss ein kleiner Haken nach hinten gezogen werden. Durch eine kleine Feder verschließt er sich automatisch.

Karat: Bei Karat handelt es sich um eine Maßeinheit. Die Masse – also das Gewicht – von Edelsteinen wird in Karat gemessen. Auch der Feingehalt von Gold wird in Karat angegeben. Ein Karat entspricht dabei 1/24 des Gewichts. Einkarätiges Gold besteht demnach aus 1/24 Gewichtsanteilen reinem Gold, 18-karätiges Gold zu 18/24, also zu 75%.

L

Layering: Der Begriff Layering beschreibt eine bestimmte Art, Ketten zu kombinieren. Beim Layering werden mehrere Ketten unterschiedlicher Längen übereinander getragen. Jede Kette kommt gut zur Geltung und wird nicht von den anderen überdeckt. Insgesamt wird eine solche Kombination als Layering Look bezeichnet.

N

Neckmess: Der englische Begriff Neckmess (neck = Hals; mess = Unordnung) bezeichnet eine Art, viele Ketten miteinander zu kombinieren. Anders als beim Layering werden Ketten beim Neckmess auch wild übereinander getragen, Länge, Form und Stil der Ketten spielen keine Rolle.

Namensschmuck: Es gibt verschiedene Möglichkeiten, den eigenen oder einen anderen Namen in Form von Schmuck zu tragen. Ketten mit einzelnen Buchstaben können für einen Namen stehen, aber auch die Personalisierung von Schmuckstücken durch eine Gravur verleiht einer Kette, einem Armband, einem Ring oder Ohrringen eine persönliche Note.

O

Oxidation: Die Oxidation beschreibt eine chemische Reaktion, die auch bei Schmuck eine Rolle spielt. Bestimmte Materialien können mit der Zeit oxidieren, also mit Sauerstoff reagieren. Dadurch kann es beispielsweise bei Sterling Silber zu Verfärbungen kommen, der Schmuck läuft an. Diese Spuren der Oxidation können mithilfe eines Silberputztuches oder eines Silberbads schnell entfernt werden. Mehr zur Schmuckpflege findest du in unserem .

Ohrhänger: Ohrhänger sind Ohrringe mit einer hängenden Form. Ohrhänger können sowohl aus Creolen oder Steckern mit kleinen Anhängern, als auch aus Gliedern oder kleinen Kettchen bestehen.

Ohrstecker: Ohrstecker sind kleine Ohrringe mit einem Steckverschluss. In der Regel handelt es sich bei Ohrsteckern um am Ohrläppchen anliegende Ohrringe, die eine gewisse Größe nicht überschreiten. Ohrstecker können gut mit anderen Ohrringen kombiniert werden.

P

Panzerkette: Panzerketten sind Ketten, deren Glieder so zusammengesetzt sind, dass sie eine flache Kette bilden, die möglichst eben auf der Haut aufliegt. Figaroketten bilden eine Unterkategorie der Panzerketten.

Perle: Perlen sind meist runde, steinähnliche Festkörper aus Perlmutt. Sie wachsen natürlicherweise in Muscheln heran, können aber auch synthetisch hergestellt werden. Durch ihre Schönheit und ihren Glanz sind sie sehr beliebt in der Schmuckherstellung.

Perlmutt: Als Perlmutt wird der Stoff bezeichnet, aus dem Perlen bestehen. Auch die Schalen von bestimmten Muscheln und anderen Tieren bestehen aus Perlmutt. Durch das Schimmern des Materials wird es gerne – vor allem in Form von Perlen – bei der Schmuckherstellung verwendet.

Personalisierung: Schmuck lässt sich auf verschiedene Weisen personalisieren. Durch eine Gravur kann ein Schmuckstück beispielsweise mit einem Schriftzug versehen werden. Aber auch Sternzeichen und Buchstaben zählen zu personalisiertem Schmuck.

R

Ring Stacking: Ring Stacking (to stack = stapeln) beschreibt eine Art, Ringe miteinander zu kombinieren. Dabei werden mehrere Ringe an einem Finger übereinander getragen. Auch das Tragen mehrerer Ringe an mehreren Fingern wird als Ring Stacking bezeichnet. Dünne Ringe eignen sich besonders gut zum Stacken, aber auch grobe Ringe können gut miteinander kombiniert werden.

Rhodinierung: Der Begriff Rhodinierung bezeichnet eine bestimmte Beschichtung von Silberschmuck, die eine zusätzliche Schutzschicht für das Schmuckstück schafft. Rhodinierte Schmuckstücke sind widerstandsfähiger gegenüber Oxidation und laufen daher weniger schnell an.

Roségold: Roségold ist ein Goldton, der durch die Zugabe von Kupfer eine leicht rötliche bzw. rosafarbene Farbe erhält. Roségold ist in der Schmuckherstellung beliebt und lässt sich gut mit silbernem Schmuck kombinieren.

S

Schmuckstein: Der Begriff Schmuckstein ist ein anderes Wort für Halbedelstein. Dabei handelt es sich um natürlich vorkommende Steine, Kristalle oder andere Stoffe, die sich durch ihre besondere Farbe oder ihren Glanz besonders gut zur Schmuckherstellung eignen.

Stacking: Stacking (vom engl. Begriff to stack = stapeln) bezeichnet die Kombination mehrerer Schmuckstücke übereinander. Sowohl bei Ringen, als auch bei Armbändern spricht man von Stacking, wenn mehrere Schmuckstücke „gestapelt“ übereinander getragen werden.

Statement-Schmuck: Statement-Schmuck umfasst besonders auffällige, meist grobe Schmuckstücke. Sowohl Ketten, als auch Ohrringe, Armbänder und Ringe können Statement-Schmuckstücke sein. Statement-Schmuck verleiht einem Outfit schnell eine besondere Note.

Süßwasserperle: Eine Süßwasserperle ist eine Perle, die in Süßwasser – also nicht in Salzwasser – gewachsen ist. Süßwasserperlen werden meist herangezüchtet. Sie bestehen aus Perlmutt und ähneln in ihrer Form, Farbe und ihrer chemischen Zusammensetzung natürlichen Perlen stark.

V

Vergoldung: Als Vergoldung wird die Legierung eines Schmuckstücks mit Gold bezeichnet. Je nach Grundmaterial können verschiedene Arten der Vergoldung zum Einsatz kommen, beispielsweise die Ionenplattierung oder galvanische Verfahren.

W

Wasserfester Schmuck: Wasserfester Schmuck zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass er auch bei regelmäßigem Wasserkontakt nicht seine Farbe verliert. Schmuck aus 316L Edelstahl ist wasserfest, auch wenn er vergoldet ist. Dieser kann also beim Duschen und Schwimmen getragen werden.

Weißgold: Bei Weißgold handelt es sich um Gold, das durch die Zugabe von Silber, Chrom oder Platin eine silbrige Farbe erhält. Durch den Goldgehalt ist es trotz ähnlicher Farbe hochwertiger als Silber.

Y

Y-Kette: Y-Ketten sind Ketten, die in einer Y-Form getragen werden. Der meist vorne sitzende Verschluss ermöglicht ein Verschließen der Kette an einer höheren Stelle, sodass ein Ende der Kette nach unten hängt und dadurch ein Y bildet. Besonders Gliederketten, die sich in jedem Glied verschließen lassen, können als Y-Kette getragen werden.

Z

Zirkonia: Zirkoniasteine sind synthetisch hergestellte Kristalle aus Zirkoniumoxid. Sie können farblos oder bunt sein, zeichnen sich durch einen funkelnden Glanz aus und sind in der Schmuckherstellung sehr beliebt. Zirkoniasteine ähneln Strasssteinen, sind jedoch widerstandsfähiger.

Zuchtperle: Zuchtperlen sind Perlen, die durch gezielte Zucht gewachsen sind. Zuchtperlen werden in Muscheln herangezogen, die in Salz- oder Süßwasser leben. Süßwasserzuchtperlen kommen natürlich vorkommenden Perlen in ihrer Optik und ihren Eigenschaften sehr nah.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.